Founders Day 2020 looked different than in past years but the recognition and celebration of our faculty and staff was just as meaningful! 

The following awards were presented this year: 

Blair D. Stambaugh Award - On the occasion of Mrs. Stambaugh’s departure from the Bryn Mawr School, the Board of Trustees created this award to be given annually to a member of the faculty or staff who has contributed the most to the overall welfare and well-being of the school community.  

The Ella Speer Colhoun and Elizabeth Atkinson Reynolds Fund - This fund recognizes teachers who make significant contributions to the School outside the classroom.  The concept of the fund recognizes a quality that typifies independent school teaching at its best: a dedication to young people as whole human beings beyond the limited scope and measurements of classroom performance.  

The Apgar Award for Teaching Excellence - The award recognizes individual teachers who have had demonstrable impact on their students in terms of 1) their ability to motivate students’ interest, curiosity and love of learning in their subject; 2) their willingness to propose and apply new teaching concepts and methods that expand students’ horizons and potential; and 3) their skill in serving as mentors to stimulate students’ intellectual development beyond the confines of their curriculum and official responsibilities.  

The “37-45” Award - This award honors the faculty, administration, and staff who worked at Bryn Mawr during the years 1937-1945.  It is awarded to a member of the community who has served the School with distinction. 

Patricia A. Dieter Staff Award - This award is presented to a member of the staff who has demonstrated outstanding loyalty, dedication and hard work in support of the well-being of the school.