Independent Collegian

This campaign ended on October 17, 2018, but you can still make a gift to University of Toledo by clicking here!

The Independent Collegian is UT’s autonomous, student-run newspaper that traces its roots to 1919, when it was founded as The Universi-Teaser. In 1922, the name was changed to The Campus Collegian, which was shortened to The Collegian in 1962. In 2000, the newspaper terminated its legal and financial ties to the University, becoming The Independent Collegian. Today, it is published by the Collegian Media Foundation, a 501(c)3 charitable, non-profit organization.

Students work at The Independent Collegian to gain marketable, real-world, on-the-job experience in covering news, researching, interviewing, writing, editing, newspaper design, and publishing. The Independent Collegian provides this experience in print journalism on UT’s campus, teaching students outside of a classroom setting the importance and value of independent print journalism.

We remain the only place on the UT campus teaching print journalism, and we champion its importance and survival.

The Independent Collegian has a rich tradition of covering news relevant to the entire University community, but most importantly, to UT students. The Independent Collegian publishes every other Wednesday during the fall and spring semesters and produces digital content weekly. During the summer, the staff distributes a special section for incoming freshmen and publishes breaking news online.

We want to continue a 99-year-old tradition: producing a student-run, student-published newspaper for The University of Toledo. Now, we need your help to do it.

Funding Priority:

Collegian Progress Fund (2402475)

US Donor Map

Global Donor Map

Donor affiliations

44% Alumni

Show Alumni

24% Students

Show Students

7% Parents

Show Parents

27% Faculty/Staff

Show Faculty/Staff

20% Friends

Show Friends

Donor list

Areeba Shah photoAreeba Shah
Kristen Buchler
Seth Hasler
Kevin M Galambos
Christina M. Fitzgerald
Hana Schnipke photoHana Schnipke
Bryce Buyakie photoBryce Buyakie
Michelle O'Hara
Srinitya Tripuraneni
Vincent Scebbi
Jay Umerley
J. R. Hoppenjans
Judy Patania
Meagan O'Hara
Marc A. McClain
Renee Thomas
Larry Vellequette
Julie Wiater
Lizbeth A Monica
Mojisola F. Tiamiyu
Eleanor M Dombrowski
Daniel L Miller
Haley Schmucker
Yarko Kuk
Sean Nestr
Michele Ross

No Matches
No Challenges

Any advocate who generates three donations will receive a shout-out on social media.


Any advocate who generates five donations will receive a UT car magnet.


For every 10 donations generated, the advocate’s name will be put into a drawing for a $100 Amazon gift card.


Only 1 left!

The first advocate to generate 25 or more donations will receive a UT blanket.