St. John's University PPE project

This campaign ended on May 05, 2020, but you can still make a gift to St. John's University by clicking here!

Support  Professor’s PPE Effort

For the last 20 years, Max A. Hergenrother has served St. John’s University. He is currently Director of Technology Operations in The Lesley H. and William L. Collins College of Professional Studies.

Moved by the plight of health-care workers in desperate need of personal protective equipment (PPE), Mr. Hergenrother immediately went to work using technology to satisfy an unmet need. With designs widely distributed on the internet, and seed money provided from the University, he began the process of creating protective face shields on 3-D printers in his home office in Glen Head, NY.

Running the machines four cycles a day every six hours enables Mr. Hergenrother to produce more than 30 protective face shields daily and more than 200 weekly. Working with Anne Rocco Pacione, Chief Information Officer, and Dana L. Chesney, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, to coordinate distribution, the first batch of masks were completed and shipped to Valley Hospital (Ridgewood, NJ), Wyckoff Heights Medical Center (Brooklyn, NY), and NewYork-Presbyterian Queens Hospital.

“It makes me proud to see the unwavering support of our administration to carry out                       our Vincentian mission to aid those in need. I continue to work tirelessly with our creative and supportive team to do all we can to help protect our citizens and keep them safe and healthy.”   - Max A. Hergenrother

Please consider joining St. John’s in support of this effort. With thousands of our own on the front lines of the effort to defeat COVID-19, many St. John’s alumni and their families depend upon this type of spirit to stay safe and well while they do their jobs. Thank you for your investment.

Donor affiliations

68% Alumni

Show Alumni

8% Parents

Show Parents

8% Faculty/Staff

Show Faculty/Staff

16% Friends

Show Friends

Donor list

Geraldine Boyden
Juanita Hernandez
William F. Dineen
Robert Mageau
Tanya E. Moses
Michael Tran
William Dunlop
John Taubeneck
Marian F McGowan
Susan White
Lynne Schifreen
Joe Cahill
Rebecca Jennings
Mary Morhart
Grace Snedden
Rachel Zampino
Tiffany Carlo

No Matches
No Challenges