Formula SAE Team

This campaign ended on April 12, 2018, but you can still make a gift to Colorado School of Mines by clicking here!

Who We Are

We are the Colorado School of Mines Society of Automotive Engineers. Each year, we spend thousands of hours designing, testing, and building an advanced race car for competition against other top engineering and research universities from around the globe. 

The Competition 

Formula SAE is an international collegiate race car competition sponsored by the Society of Automotive and Aerospace Engineers. In international competition last year, we improved our cornering capabilities and reliability; we were rewarded with a twenty seven rank book, from 53rd to 26th! This June, we are returning to race in Lincoln, Nebraska.

How Do We Compete

This multi-day competition is comprised of several events. We are meticulously judged in eight categories. The events vary from Formula One-style autocross and drag race acceleration tests to fuel economy and engineering design.

Your Support

Our goal this season is to continue last year's stunning improvements. We were on our way to finishing in the top fifteen when we had to slow down due to cooling issues at the end of the race. Our student engineers have the skills to match teams with much larger budgets, so we ask for your help to achieve our goals and compete at the highest level.

For competition this year, we need a few critical parts to keep us on the track. We're asking for your support to help us purchase the tires - one of the final parts of the build. The high accelerations demand specialty tires to hold the car on the road. Each one costs $800:

US Heat Map

Global Heat Map

Donor affiliations

10% Alumnus/a

Show Alumnus/a

20% Students

Show Students

45% Parents

Show Parents

20% Friends

Show Friends

Donor list

Kyle Burrough
Richard L Kreutz
Mahoney, Robert and Glenda
Deb and Chris Ward
Sherry Edwards
Melissa Waltz
Jason Okuhara
Laurie Rozendaal
Barbara Westfall
Rodney Shapen
Nick Johnson
The Khoslas
Mark Thompson
James E Morrison
Amy Morrison
Brad & Kristin Johnson
Ryan T Morrison
Casey DeRosa

An Anonymous Donor matched $1,000
No Challenges